Kevin Scott’s Very ‘Funky Christmas’

In what has become an Atlanta tradition, Kevin Scott continues to expand and outdo himself each year with his “Funky Christmas” spectacular. Originally started as part of ATL Collective’s series of classic album productions and focused on the “James Brown Funky Christmas” album, this 5th year event has grown in the sheer number of fantastic artists that participate and the range of music performed. Kevin put together a masterpiece, bringing this fabulous crew together for one of the most unforgettable shows of the year.

This year’s show grew to fill the Buckhead Theater, ran for more than 2 1/2 hours and 30 different tunes with 10 different lead vocalists. Each was amazing in their own right and amped up the seasonal spirit to the max. Each year, the list of stellar guests is really astounding. A perennial performer is the world’s most recorded drummer, Bernard “Pretty” Purdie who has recorded of course with James Brown, Aretha Franklin and Steely Dan to name a few. Grant Green Jr. is another event veteran who always makes it funky! A show highlight was the second set’s “Holy Ghost” by the Bar Kays and sung by Adryon de León of Orgone and Matador! Soul Sounds with Kevin’s dad, David Adkins, sitting in on keys.

And now for a little background on Kevin Scott, the organizer, bass player and MC for the evening. Kevin hails from Dothan, AL and is a local ATL bass player of some notoriety and a musician’s musician. For several years he put on the Elliott Street Tuesday Night Jam and brought together musician’s from around the world as they passed through town. He famously gave up his regular slot at The Five Spot (now Aisle 5) so that Snarky Puppy would have a place to gig when they came to town. And so when the time came for a bassist to replace Michael League in FORQ, Kevin was invited to jump in and is now a full time member on the GroundUp Music label. On top of that, Eddie Roberts of The New Mastersounds and Alan Evans (Soulive, Play On Brother) gave Kevin the nod when they were putting together their new band Matador! Soul Sounds. As if that’s not enough, he also regularly gigs with Jimmy Herring and Wayne Krantz! Talk about a full schedule! For this evening, Kevin kindly got me my first official press pass to allow filming in the theater. It was also the first big show shot with the Moment anamorphic lens on my iPhone 7. I’m so appreciative of Kevin as a friend and proud of his accomplishments. Here’s full set videos of the both sets!

Set 1 Full Video

Set 2 Full Video

The Singers (in order of appearance):

Amanda Joy
Rachel Ann Morgan
Ansley Stewart
Brenda Nicole Moorer
Tiffany White
Grant Green Jr.
Adryon de León
Jason Eskridge
Mark Rivers
Josh Dion

The Band

Kevin Scott – Bass, Leader and Curator
Bernard “Pretty” Purdie – Drums
Josh Dion – Drums and Vocals
Justin Stanton – Trumpet and Keys
Nick Etwell – Trumpet
Aaron Trubic – Bass
Emil Werstler _Guitar
Matthew Dutot Slocum – Keys
Rhett Huffman – Keys
Dave Yoke – Guitar
Nick Johnson – Guitar
Mark Raudabaugh – Drums
Daniel Wytanis – Trombone
Anton Harris – Sax
Taylor Kennedy – Sax
Rafael Pereira – Drums